3D Plates

Award-winning metal facade – Thyssen Krupp Day Nursery

The Steel Innovation Prizes 2015 were awarded within the scope of the “Berliner Stahldialog” (Berlin Steel Dialogue). The facade of the “Miniapolis” day nursery in the ThyssenKrupp district of Essen received first prize in the category of “Steel in the Building and Construction Industry”.

The joint venture of JSWD Architects, Cologne, and Chaix & Morel et Associés, Paris developed a new three-dimensional plate with us for the new construction of a day nursery in Essen – “Water Wave TKQ” – three-dimensionally formed facade elements made of perforated and brushed K-240 stainless steel plates.

The 1.0 mm thick, brushed stainless steel panels, with dimensions of 650 mm x 1300 mm respectively, are so arranged as to allow a smooth transition from the vertical to the horizontal contact surface areas.

The surface of the facade is designed with a tooling system of four different wave geometries. In order to achieve an even flow of the undulating landscape over the entire surface, the wave design was developed so that the 4-part elements were mounted next to and under each other in an offset manner.

The jury of the Steel Innovation Prize 2015 explained their selection for the 1st prize with the following words:

“Instead of using traditional wall-building materials, the joint venture JSWD Architects and Chaix & Morel et Associés developed three-dimensionally formed facade elements made from perforated stainless steel plates for the new construction of a day nursery in Essen, which cover the building with an undulating design due to the smooth transition from one contact surface area to the next. A hydromechanical forming process was chosen to manufacture the elements, which allows one of the most cost-effective and materials-saving forms of production. The very aesthetic and, due to the use of a forming process previously not often used in the building industry, extremely efficient use of stable, malleable construction elements opens up new market opportunities in modern facade architecture.”

Photo: Thomas Lewandovski, Halle / Michael Wolff, Frankfurt/Main

3D Platten

Preisgekrönte Metallfassade – Thyssen Krupp Kita

Im Rahmen des Berliner Stahldialogs wurden die Stahl-Innovationspreise 2015 verliehen. In der Kategorie „Stahl im Bauwesen“ erhielt die Fassade der Kita „Miniapolis“ im Essener ThyssenKrupp Quartier den 1. Preis.

Die Arbeitsgemeinschaft JSWD Architekten, Köln und Chaix & Morel et Associés, Paris entwickelten gemeinsam mit uns für den Neubau einer Kindertagesstätte in Essen eine neue 3D Platte: „Wasserwelle TKQ“ – dreidimensional geformte Fassadenelemente aus gelochten und K-240 geschliffenen Edelstahlblechen.

Die 1,0 mm dicken, geschliffenen Edelstahl Paneele mit Abmessungen von jeweils 650 mm x 1300 mm sind so angeordnet, dass an den vertikalen und horizontalen Stoßflächen fließende Übergänge entstehen.

Die Fassadenfläche ist mit einem Werkzeugsystem von vier unterschiedlichen Wellen-Geometrien konzipiert. Um eine gleichmäßige Bewegung der Wellenlandschaft über die gesamte Fassadenfläche zu erreichen, wurde das Wellendesign so entwickelt, dass die 4-teiligen Elemente versetzt neben- und untereinander montiert wurden.

Die Jury des Stahl-Innovationspreises 2015 begründete Ihre Wahl für den 1. Preis mit folgenden Worten:
„Statt traditionelle Wandbaustoffe einzusetzen, entwickelte die Arbeitsgemeinschaft JSWD Architekten und Chaix & Morel et Associés für den Neubau einer Kindertagesstätte in Essen dreidimensional geformte Fassadenelemente aus gelochten Edelstahlblechen, die das Gebäude mit an den Stoßflächen fließenden Übergängen wellenförmig umhüllen. Für die Herstellung der Elemente wurde ein hydromechanischer Umformprozess gewählt, der eine kostengünstige und materialsparende Fertigung erlaubt. Der sehr ästhetische und durch den Einsatz des bisher im Bauwesen nicht üblichen Umformverfahrens auch äußerst wirtschaftliche Einsatz von stabilen, plastischen Bauelementen eröffnet neue Marktchancen in der modernen Fassadenarchitektur.“

Foto: Thomas Lewandovski, Halle / Michael Wolff, Frankfurt/Main